This Blog

Once there was a little girl that loved Jesus with her whole heart…

This blog is dedicated to that little girl, and every little girl and boy that loved God and wanted nothing more than to serve Him. The little girls and boys that were taught that God hated them in their humanity. Because they were ‘sinful’ and depraved. The little ones that were encouraged to foresake their God-given personhood because some religious leader told them they had to, or face hell and damnation.

This blog is about how one little girl grew up and tried to be the change the church so badly needed… Only to find herself broken, beaten down, and harassed all over again by others calling themselves “Christians”.

I was that little girl.
I am the one wounded.
This blog chronicles the reimagining of my faith, my final departure from all things church, and my thoughts along the way.

Welcome:)

 

2 thoughts on “This Blog

  1. Wow. First of all, I’m new to your blog and am enjoying reading very much. Again I say, wow. I can relate to so much of what I have read so far. I grew up in the Christian church. Later went to Bible school with the hopes of being in “full time ministry” somewhere. Long story short, I haven’t stepped foot in a church other than a funeral since about 2008. There were months of seeing scriptures in a whole new light. Those moments where you go, I don’t what we are teaching is really in line with those scriptures. If you look at them in context… And then it all started going south. Our hearts were to find truth, even if it meant looking at things totally different than we have before. And we were excited about it! Surely others would be too, right? LOL We quickly found out that most everyone else was fine with the way things have always been and weren’t at all interested in changing anything. Oh, and there’s the door. Now, I don’t miss it at all. But at the time, it was very, very painful.
    I still believe in Jesus and have a better relationship with God than ever. I just think organized religion as it exists today, and has for a long while, was never what God had in mind. I don’t presume to know what He did have in mind. He hasn’t shared that with me yet. I get glimpses of what I think He probably has in mind, but I think that is probably a lifelong journey and learning experience. I don’t know what label I would put on myself at this point. i don’t think it would be Christian? I have found bits and pieces of truth in so many places. I have found genuine, loving, caring people in so many circles outside Christianity who have taught me so much and touched my life in so many ways.
    Anyway, I will continue to read your posts and I thank you for sharing your journey.
    I hope you and yours are well and I look forward to hearing about the healing that continues to go on in you all.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for sharing your story with me! I’m glad that my writing here resonates with you:)

      I am seeing much about the nature of the institutional church that prevents it from aligning with the Truth. As long as identifying one’s self as Christian confers a certain privilege, it stops being Truth. That’s been the plight of the church since Constantine!

      Somehow, this fact brings about God’s will. In a very paradoxical way, lol! If we no longer see God in church practices and doctrines, and struggle to see evidence of Him in the lives of others following our same religion, then we are left with Him alone as our source of comfort and Truth. I think that’s how God prefers it. And it takes much discomfort for us human beings to give up the visible “certainties” for the invisible Certainty on which the entirety of our being depends.

      Blessings to you on your journey towards bearing His likeness:)

      Like

Comments are closed.