The Coin

As a thinker, I find I often come to conclusions that, at first glance, appear to be at odds with each other. It’s like this: I can put myself in another’s shoes and see things from their perspective. I can also describe in detail my own, unique experience of walking that same path wearing my own pair of shoes. So, which pair of shoes are “right”?

A professor at my Seminary told me that I can see both sides of the coin. I can turn it over and compare how the two sides differ and discern what they hold in common. He advised me that it’s not about choosing heads or tails, it’s about finding a way to stand on the edge of the coin.

This sounded brilliant at the time, because I hadn’t thought of it that way before. But at the same time, I knew it didn’t quite ring true. 

It seems silly now that I, the hand that holds the coin, should be so confounded by the shiny object I hold in my hand. After all, am I my thoughts or my experiences? Are you the sum of yours? 

Maybe, the answer to discerning which pair of shoes are “right”, yours or mine, is to toss the shoes, take each other’s hand, and walk barefoot together. 

Instead of being ruled by the dimensions of a coin, perhaps we stuff that infernal coin into our pocket and drop it into the offering plate on Sunday morning.

There is a third way of understanding ourselves, each other, and the world around us. But before we can meet here, we need to take off our shoes, tithe our coin, and follow Him.

