Best Day Ever

We spent Saturday afternoon (my hubby, my German Bestie, the kiddos, and I) traipsing through wooded ravines and along prairie restoration projects. It felt so good to be outdoors together. We found buck rubs, owl pellets, deer tracks, hawk feathers, paper wasp nests, and so much more….

Time in Nature is so good for the soul. 

I watched the kiddos excitedly point out deer trails and rabbit scat to my husband. You see, my husband is a real woodsman. He spent his childhood fishing on the Great Lakes and hunting game with his father in the Northwoods of Wisconsin. His family never purchased meat, they hunted for it. You might think this woodsman of mine would be coarse and gruff. But he’s the gentlest man I’ve ever met. He’s also the strongest man I’ve ever known. He’s a beautiful paradox and over the decade I have known him, he has managed to challenge all of my preconceived notions about masculinity. 

As I watch my three little boys, and our token daughter, lovingly trek after my husband through the woods, I realize: I am blessed beyond measure. 

After all that we’ve been through together, our marriage has emerged as something holy. Something larger than just me + him. Something Sacred.

The beautiful thing about this sacred marriage of ours, is that it pours its love out and into the little ones we’ve brought into this world. And their little lights shine more brightly because of it. 

Our life together is far from perfect. That is how I know that its sacred nature is sustained by a Higher Power. Our marriage is very human, with all the ups and downs  typical of human relationships. But at the same time, it is sustained by something more than  just our affection towards each other. There is a devotion here that transcends my ability to explain it with words. We are spiritually bound in such a way that our human frailties and tendencies for selfishness have not touched our commitment to each other. 

Seeing my Love in his natural element reminds me of all the reasons I fell in love with him. And I thank God for giving me the opportunity to love and be loved by this woodsman of mine. Not everyone finds what we happened to stumble upon. It’s one of those “God moments” that has spanned over 10 years now. One that I pray spans several more decades of life together.

7 thoughts on “Best Day Ever

    1. Well… I am not a god. Nor am I like God. However, I grew up in churches forever making this distinction between “godly” people and “ungodly” folks. So, I own my human identity; I’m an ungodly woman;)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m not one of those people who’s always throwing the bible at others but I thought I would share the following:
        Psalm 82:6-8King James Version (KJV)

        6 I have said, Ye are gods; and all of you are children of the most High.

        7 But ye shall die like men, and fall like one of the princes.

        Like

      2. I am also, not one to use the Bible as means to bludgeon another… But I have to respond in kind, right?
        “For while we were still helpless, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly.” Romans 5:6 (NASB)

        If I am to find myself redeemed in Christ, I need to see that I am also one of the ungodly;)

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thank you:)
        And I’m glad you asked:)

        My being an ‘ungodly woman ‘, and a Christian, is nothing new. I’m just following a long tradition of Christian writers that saw themselves clearly in contrast to Christ. St. Paul in I Timothy 1:15 “The saying is sure and worthy of full acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners—of whom I am the foremost.” (NRSV)
        And Martin Luther with his “Simul Justus et peccator.”

        Like

  1. If you see evidence to the contrary, recognize glimpses of sainthood in my life as a sinful human, it is because of God’s goodness. Not my own. It’s pretty awesome that even an unruly child of God has a share in that inheritance of true righteousness, is it not? But if I pretend to be “godly”, you will see only my own righteousness. “We have all become like one who is unclean,
    and all our righteous deeds are like a filthy cloth” Isaiah 64:6a (NRSV). I’d rather be clothed in Christ’s righteousness, as an ungodly woman, than strut around wearing filthy rags:)

    Like

Comments are closed.