God help us all

We’ve forgotten who we are. 

We’ve forgotten our common heritage,  and we’ve lost sight of the fact that we hold  a common future– the grave.

We fight to be seen as right, and feel completely  justified in our feelings of rightness. As if this is the ultimate accomplishment of an Eternal goal. 

But as long as our political ideas, and our social constructs,  deny the perfect equity of every man, woman and child? We’ve fallen short. We’ve missed the mark– we have all sinned, and continue to do so. 

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts,

    nor are your ways my ways, says the Lord.

For as the heavens are higher than the earth,

    so are my ways higher than your ways

    and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

Isaiah 55:8-9 (NRSV)

 

Our God is impartial. He loves us all equally– with no regard to such passing things as socioeconomic status, race, disability, or sexual identity. 

Human beings have a very difficult time extending honor and respect to others without distinction. 

Even worse–we jump at the chance to claim the same distinctions and discriminations we operate with, are actually God’s! 

What is wrong with us?! 

How did we all stray so far from our Creator?  

I long for real Justice. I long for the Divine to hold us, each and everyone of us, to account for our sin. 

Because here and now, we as clever serpents are allowed to cast the blame and burden of our own ungodliness onto others that we pretend are unlike ourselves. 

‘They’ are the problem. ‘They’ are dangerous. ‘We’ are the victims of Fate. We justify oppressing others because, clearly, we are somehow superior. 

It’s a lie. 

And it’s a lie we all succumb to at one point or another, but we are not mere victims of Fate.

We can learn. 

We can grow in knowledge and valor. 

We can change

If we cling to the Lie, we  will stubbornly refuse to claim our right to be more than products of our environment. Buying into the Lie divorces us from who we truly are– siblings in Christ. We either become who we were created to be,  or, we remain nothing more than dust awaiting our turn to rejoin dust. 

I want my life to mean something. I don’t want to spend it distracting myself from the reality around me with the chasing of phantoms (I’m talking to you, O Internet).

I want what is real. I want what  will last far beyond my short time spent here as a human being. 

The only way to accomplish my goal is to seek out Love. There really is no other way. I’ve tried! But, if God is Love (and 1 John 4 claims that God is), then my setting out after Love is both my daily task and my Eternal destiny.

To hell with anything and everything that does not come from Love! 

To hell indeed.

I think hell must look a lot like Earth. 

Here’s to making what remains of my time, time well served.

