Quote Challenge Accepted

I SING THE BODY ELECTRIC has invited me to take part in a 3-day quote posting challenge. 

Because I enjoy putting my own spin on things, each day I’m going to choose three quotes from one of my three favorite Theologians. I’ll also include links to their profiles on Theopedia. That way, if you like what you read here, you can venture out and learn more about the wo/man behind the quote:)

Today, I’m featuring Jurgen Moltmann. 

I’m really bad with challenges and chain letters/emails… So instead of blindly choosing bloggers to challenge, comment below if you are interested in being challenged, and I’ll link to your blog in tomorrow’s post.

 (See the reasonable, well thought out excuses I’ve included here for not following the rules? I’m getting very good at that… My naturally defiant self must be evolving…)

5 thoughts on “Quote Challenge Accepted

  1. I don’t really know what this whole “quote challenge” is all about, but I do know my Moltmann. Any and every time his name comes up (which isn’t nearly often enough), I’ve just got to put out these words of his. Speaking on both the question of divine omnipotence, and on the question of the inner essence of God’s being in itself, Moltmann writes:

    “When the crucified Jesus is called the ‘image of the invisible God’, the meaning is that this is God, and God is like this. God is not greater than he is in this humiliation. God is not more glorious than he is in this self-surrender. God is not more powerful than he is in this helplessness. God is not more divine than he is in this humanity.” (The Crucified God: The Cross of Christ as the Foundation and Criticism of Christian Theology, 205).

    This inversion of worldly standards of power is deeply, deeply profound. The same sort of thing is present in Barth, of course – and even Luther said somewhere that “it was the greatest of injustices that the Word of God came to be written.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m afraid my opinion of Karl Barth has been greatly diminished by his reluctance to join the Confessing church during WWII.
      Of course, then we have Moltmann here who as an actual Nazi soldier… I think that’s why I hold Moltmann in such high regard. He doesn’t hide his former allegiances, nor does he ever excuse them. Rather, he allows it to continue as part of his own story. I admire that kind of honesty:)

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.