Keepin’ It Real

If there is any one overarching goal for my blogging endeavors, it’s to maintain an authentic voice. 
It would be too easy for me to get up on my soap box every day, and get all up in the face of whatever it is in the world that currently irks me. I’m too good at articulating my grievances. Far too good. Although  I’ve written a few of those kind of posts, I try to avoid letting it define this blog (and, frankly, the whole of my intellectual life as well…).

I can go on and on and on about Scripture. What it says to me. How it has shaped my perspective. Sometimes, I do just that. I’ve spent my entire life reading, memorizing, and studying Scripture– formerly and informerly. I even read the NT in its original language, Koine Greek, after attaining (partial) fluency at Seminary. But… Can my reiteration of Scripture alone aptly represent the entirety of my relationship with Christ? Heck no!

I can talk about my past. And I do. However, I (try to!) live in the present, with an eye on the future. If I chronicle aspects of my past here, it’s only because they still relate to my present. 

“I’m trying to shed light on what you cannot see– the invisible workings of my soul.”

Suffice it to say, whether I’m blogging here about sociopolitical forces, or offering my take on Scripture, or painting a portrait of past events, I’m doing so in order to reveal glimpses of my inner life and present faith in Christ. I’m trying to shed light on what you cannot see– the invisible workings of my soul. I’ve yet to perfect this in written form. But looking back at where I started 3 months ago, I think I’m well on my way.

The life of the Spirit within us is dynamic. Fluid. Ever changing in response to what we encounter outside of it. I’ve had the nature of spirituality explained to me as being akin to a slinky. Or a circle. In my experience, it takes on a cyclical quality not unlike the four seasons that govern the birth/ life/death/rebirth activity of the natural world. 

That is what I want you to see in me and my blog–the natural movement of my soul’s life. Faith is not static. It has a life all of its own, ever turning our questioning into new confidence that brings with it new questioning. 

None of us will actually have it all figured out in this life (although some will try to convince you they do). That kind of knowing is only promised in the life after this one.

I am committed to being honest and forthcoming here. Which means that my posts may not always be pretty, or witty, or smart….

But they will always be real.

(Even if I have to rewrite them numerous times before publishing… Because I totally do that…)

19 thoughts on “Keepin’ It Real

  1. I’m not sure if we will get it all figured out in this life… or the one to come. The nature of spirituality, like you said, is cyclical. Completing a cycle only sets one up for the next level, the next spin.
    Though we may never figure it all out, we can come into all that is figure-out-able. We can come within the spiritual interface of Heaven while still on Earth. Yes, I think that those who see it, will, and do. 🙂

    Like

    1. I think we can learn to speak the language of the soul as human beings; we are afforded glimpses of “Heaven” in our lives here…. But I’m still very much influenced by the Judeo-Christian tradition as far as the nature of the next life– especially Christ’s words in Matthew 19:28 on the renewal of all things, which was a quote from Isaiah 43:18 and reiterated in Revelation 21:5– what is now will not be the same as what will eventually be. Death has been conquered through Christ, so I have that hope that the natural cycles we see in the material world will not continue to govern our lives forever.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m trying to see where you are coming from, but I looked up these three verses and they don’t seem to correlate. Does Isaiah fit in? Was there something missed in translation?
        Anyway, what I was saying was we will never cease to grow both here and in heaven. The more we understand here, the farther ahead we will be in heaven. We can live in the heavenly atmosphere already. This is open to us presently to walk into.
        We are and will be a nation of kings and priests. We will all sit in heavenly places in Yeshua. But this is the training ground. To understand what will be, it begins here and now.
        … the spiritual life versus rote learning.

        Like

      2. Isaiah 43:18-19–“Do not remember the former things,
        or consider the things of old.
        I am about to do a new thing;
        now it springs forth, do you not perceive it?
        I will make a way in the wilderness
        and rivers in the desert”
        Matthew 19:28– “Jesus said to them, “Truly I tell you, at the renewal of all things, when the Son of Man is seated on the throne of his glory…”
        Revelation 21:5–“And the one who was seated on the throne said, “See, I am making all things new.””
        All taken directly from the NRSV. Hoping that helps!

        I agree, our spiritual life starts here. But what it will look like beyond, remains to be seen with anything other than spiritual eyes. Growth, to me, means closer to death. It is a constant leaving behind, so that we can move forward.
        The Kingdom economy is not a natural or material one. The last shall be first and first shall be last…God in Christ coming to serve instead of be served… The Kingdom economy is paradoxical to natural man.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Okay, so this is in respect to a new thing and not specifically about the throne which all but the Isaiah verse allude to.
        I was a little confused. Please excuse me. I read all three verses several times trying to wrap my head around where you were taking it. 🙂
        The last paragraph here I agree with wholeheartedly.
        Just a note, though, before I go. I’ve noticed, as you said, that “the spiritual life remains to be seen with anything other than spiritual eyes.” I think these spiritual eyes are open on many, and these are already experiencing, coming into Heaven while on Earth at present.
        It surely is a new economy. It is Spirit and gift driven and does not dabble in the material except to create it anew by way of moving in the spiritual in certain deliberate ways.
        The spiritual is accounted worthless on this plane, even in church, but the material has no value in heaven, it is little more than the fruit of our spirit.
        The last will be first and first will be last.
        The nature of man cannot comprehend Heaven.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I very much appreciate your willingness to continue this dialogue with me, even after the confusion over which hand of God we’re destined to sit at;)
        As you know, spiritual things in spiritual words only translate to those who are already spiritual… The imagery of the first Pentecost in Acts, in my opinion, speaks to the Kingdom of heaven being accessible upon the Earth. Too often though, those with avid interest in that realm mistake what is the mystical for some sort of magick, and quickly get in over their heads… I don’t know which is worse– the church denying the value of the spiritual, or those outside of it trying to sell “the secret” of the spiritual to others at a nice earthly profit.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. What an interesting perspective you have. I must admit, its very similar to my own, with a few interesting twists thrown in. 🙂
        I’ve long noticed that the words in scripture are not transferring religiously. There are theories and ideas, but people are taking everything as if were written for the Daily News. It is of a spiritual nature and one needs to get on its channel, one needs not only to know about the news, but experience it in a real fashion.
        The temptation is to sell, but honestly there is nothing to sell. The goods are not of this world and do not have any earthly value.
        One can sell something to light a spark, but that spark does nothing if it is not received in the spiritual and lived. Transfer is only by anointing, similar to laying on of hands. It moves as the channel becomes open to receive it.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I think there IS value to those of us Earthly beings that have experienced synchronicities and are thirsting for more that kind of knowledge, … But it isn’t of monetary value, except to those so desiring to be initiated into (or anointed, to use your term) that realm of being, that they are willing to pay quacks to analyze their past lives, or give ‘love offerings’ of cash to millionaire televangelists to solicit God’s blessing of their faith etc. etc. etc.

        I’m not really all that into Gnosticism, but the Gospel of Thomas really spoke to me– the one in one thousand, two in ten thousand that stand together as One– those of us truly living into that heavenly realm right here and now, cannot help but to feel the suffering of others while being compelled by the Divine to assuage the pain of those that cross our paths. Authentic connection with the Divine necessarily softens our hearts and focuses our attention outside of ourselves. I have met so few people IRL living their lives that way. If more did, that initial spark could not help but set the entire world aflame with its compassion. I see the potential. I’ve lived into it in various times and places. But I cannot help but think two in ten thousand is an exaggerated number, lol! We live in spiritually meager times…

        Liked by 1 person

      7. I’ve really enjoyed our conversation here. I think you’d find our perspectives are much more similar than they are dissimilar. It just happens that the combination of my being a Holistic thinker and having a nearly eidetic memory when it comes to the written word allows me to draw parallels without having to rely on language or imagery outside of the Christian Tradition. It’s all right there, in the Bible. But one needs to have the right sight in order to see it;)

        Like

      8. The reason why the five foolish virgins (versions) had to go back and buy oil (the Holy Spirit) is because they had not stored up Spirit in their vessels (souls). These are the only one’s with whom it becomes necessary to buy knowledge of the Divine. All else carry it with them. But the buying shows that they were not aware of the times, which all who are connected with Yeshua are, and Christ says rightly, I never knew you. It was all an outward act.
        I personally like the Gospel of Thomas. The Spirit comes at life from many different perspectives. Man in his physical thinking looks for patterns in truth, but once spirit filled, the soul looks for the whole body of knowledge from many different facets. Almighty is complex encompassing many different approaches, but very easily grasped if approached in Spirit. Only that which is of Almighty can comprehend Almighty. The rest is as if playing with Barbie Dolls. Hearing, they cannot hear, seeing they cannot see. It’s all pretend, make believe, a physical path, a law, a gospel, but certainly not being filled with the Spirit of The Most High.
        As you said only one in a very large number actually get it.

        Liked by 1 person

      9. I’m more concerned with the issue of the ‘lost sheep’, the issue of a loss of our true identity in Christ. These suffer, not because they are insincere or lack desire, but because they have been led away from the Source of their true worth and value. These are the ones my heart breaks for– they carry what they need with them, but they cannot see or access it. These are the ones I believe Christ is most concerned with as well. Not the fakers or pretenders, but the ones the pretenders and fakers lead farther away from Truth.
        I fear that the Christian religion has been so misused over the course of its history that many cannot hear the Shepherd’s voice calling to them while in this framework of belief. But at the same time, alternative frameworks of spiritual understanding lack the groundedness and insight of 2000 years of sacred tradition.
        We walk a narrow path, and enter through a narrow gate. A lot of us just aren’t going to get this, and I think it’s harmful to pretend we do when we don’t, lol!

        Liked by 1 person

      10. *harmful to ourselves AND others. Our egos are the ones convincing is to pretend we’ve somehow ‘arrived’, when, there is no ‘arrival’– it isn’t a ladder to climb, but a Mandela-like labyrinth in which we spend the entirety of our human lives finding our way through… Only to find we may get closer the center, but all is One anyway;)

        Like

      11. Let go of the church completely and hold on to Christ alone. Then you will understand.
        I just left a comment on one of your recent posts. Read it. Perhaps you will better understand.
        The lost sheep are no longer to be herded into a church. That would be to slaughter them.
        The lost sheep are only coming to one Source these days, Christ alone, and for all you know, you may be that face.

        Liked by 1 person

      12. Amen to that… I’ve written about that in a post several weeks ago! I’m reminded of a verse that had deep meaning for me this past year–Zechariah 11:4.
        While I’ve struggled to stay within Christianity (with my studies in comparative religion, I could totally just pick out a new one and transfer everything over, lol!), Christ has made it clear that I am not to do so. Whatever it is His will would have for me, it’s within the Christian Faith. Maybe that’s because this flock has been spiritually sacrificed by many Church leaders? Time will tell. But I’m very glad to meet another kindred, having a similar call, and perhaps even a similar role in bringing His will completion on earth as it is heaven.

        Liked by 1 person

      13. Yahweh explained it to me this way, and oddly enough, it is the reason why I no longer consider myself a Christian or a follower of any faith for that matter.
        I wa sitting at my desk in front of the large picture window in our house. We were out in the country at the time on a remote yard site. I could see field, forest, and wild animals in the field. Suddenly I could see a fluorescent green fabric of a web going through all of it, including the house and myself. I’d gone off in a quick vision.
        The message was simple. Yahweh is in and through everything, but is not necessarily those objects. In order to follow Him/Her I needed to become more like that.
        I was told to study into all the different faiths and that Yahweh would show me where truth and error would lie.
        Several years into that, it became clear, the base ideas across the faiths are not all that dissimilar. In fact, what Christianity has morphed into today, is one of the most heathen of the whole bunch. Crazy!
        I am nothing, just a vessel, carrying the power and understanding of the One that created and inhabits the whole of the universe.
        Yahweh has decreed the churches and faiths have become inept and He/She is presently doing away with them. Those found inside, like being in the seminary, are experiencing this destruction.
        Yahweh is only bringing the lost sheep to what He is at this time, to souls that individually represent Him.
        In the world, but not of it…

        Liked by 1 person

      14. Actually, that corresponds a lot to what I found on church history, and in my more recent study of the Gospels– Christ came to do away with the old hierarchies. No longer would we need priests to mediate for us and teach us–Christ Himself would take that role, and we all would now be taught by God. But, you know how human beings like doing things their own way, instead of God’s… The institutional church came into being through a rejection of the invitation to commune with God in the inner realm of each human heart. Church made up a new letter of the law, to replace the pre-Christian one, and now we gather together as a bunch of Neo-Pharisees, lol! If Christ came in the flesh here and now, He’d likely be treated the same way he was at Calvary. I think Christ DOES return through the lives of people like us, and once again, he is stricken, smitten and afflicted by the one’s believing themselves to be faithful…

        I want to be a part of this new thing Christ came to establish. But I’ll admit, my ego was very much tempted by the opportunity to take on an official leadership role in the church. In that way, I am still very much human;)

        Liked by 1 person

      15. You’re so right in all of this. I couldn’t agree more, and I like your unique perspective.
        This is a new thing. It is only Christ in us that will behold Christ.
        “We will see him as He is, for we shall be like Him.”
        He is setting up for this certainty at present. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. The entirety of our dialogue here, brought this passage to mind.
    Blessings;)

    1 Cor 2:6-16:
    “Yet among the mature we do speak wisdom, though it is not a wisdom of this age or of the rulers of this age, who are doomed to perish. But we speak God’s wisdom, secret and hidden, which God decreed before the ages for our glory. None of the rulers of this age understood this; for if they had, they would not have crucified the Lord of glory. But, as it is written,

    “What no eye has seen, nor ear heard,
    nor the human heart conceived,
    what God has prepared for those who love him”—

    these things God has revealed to us through the Spirit; for the Spirit searches everything, even the depths of God. For what human being knows what is truly human except the human spirit that is within? So also no one comprehends what is truly God’s except the Spirit of God. Now we have received not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit that is from God, so that we may understand the gifts bestowed on us by God. And we speak of these things in words not taught by human wisdom but taught by the Spirit, interpreting spiritual things to those who are spiritual.

    Those who are unspiritual do not receive the gifts of God’s Spirit, for they are foolishness to them, and they are unable to understand them because they are spiritually discerned. Those who are spiritual discern all things, and they are themselves subject to no one else’s scrutiny.

    “For who has known the mind of the Lord
    so as to instruct him?”
    But we have the mind of Christ.”

    Like

Comments are closed.