“This I Know, That God Is For Me”

“You have kept count of my tossings; put my tears in your bottle. Are they not in your record? 

Then my enemies will retreat in the day when I call.

This I know, that God is for me. 

In God, whose word I praise, in the Lord, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I am not afraid.

What can a mere mortal do to me?”

Psalm 56:8-11 (NRSV, boldface mine)

My out-of-the-box God is on my side.

He is the storm that has pummeled me, and He is my place of safety through the storm. 

God has not turned a deaf ear to my sorrowful songs, He has written the verses of my lamentations onto His own heart. 

My God gives me strength, Wisdom, Life.

I give to Him my pain, my heartache and fear. 

The gift of my grief, given to Him, is deemed as worthy as my praise:

“The sacrifice acceptable to God is a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.”

Psalm 51:17 (NRSV)

My heart, once hardened and brittle, is now softened. Strong.

I am not cursed because I have been led into a time of trial,

I am blessed that my God would pour so much of Himself into my little life. 

He has called me by name, and I have answered Him. 

He leads me through fire, and I walk after Him through flame.

He shapes me, and I surrender to His transformative power. 

He whispers Wisdom into my secret heart; I am a cache for His treasures. 

Though I am foolish, He makes me wise.

Though I am weak, in Him I am strong. 

Though I appear as one cursed, I am blessed beyond measure.

My God is on my side. 

And I, on His. 

7 thoughts on ““This I Know, That God Is For Me”

  1. Kristen, I’m behind on your posts, in the car on my phone, driving to a place where I’ll be out of reception for a few days, and feeling carsick so I need to stop for now but I just wanted to say I am thinking of you and can’t wait to read the rest of your posts when I am less nauseated!! I am sorry I got behind and so appreciate your support in the recent days. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.