The Little Things

Some things are too precious to share with strangers… As transparent as I strive to be, there has always been this private outpouring from the intimate meeting of the Divine and myself that I can never bring myself to fully disclose. 

It would be akin to gushing about my sex-life with my husband– never gonna happen here. 

However, as I count my blessings presently, I cannot escape the myriad little ways my God has let me know He sees me, and that He cares. 

If it wasn’t for all the little things… I highly doubt my faith would be as strong as it is. 

Oh, how I have clung to those little things! 

Martin Luther once wrote: 

“Our Lord God has made His greatest gifts the commonest.”

We truly worship a God that prides Himself on His hiddeness. I like that in a Deity. It makes it impossible for any one human being to lay claim upon His gifts!

I’m cultivating an appreciation for the small yet faithful ways God continues to show up in my life here.

If I was God, I think I’d screw it up beyond repair. I’d be all about grand displays of my power. 

Which makes me appreciate God’s ways even more so—God isn’t like us. 

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts,

    nor are your ways my ways, says the Lord.

For as the heavens are higher than the earth,

    so are my ways higher than your ways

    and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

Isaiah 55:8-9 (NRSV)

I’m glad that God isn’t one of us! He, by far, transcends any and all human thoughts and ideas.

This fact brings me much comfort.

I could spend my whole life learning about God, and never scratch the surface of who God is.

I intend to do that very thing– what an adventure it can be!

To see God in the little things… that has become my daily prayer. I don’t want to miss out on anything He’s doing in my world. And He’s always at work here.


