Hope and Misery

My mind is so foggy today (thank you, moldy house). I just spent 5 hours online and on the phone trying to procure rental housing in the Northwoods of Wisconsin. My Woodsman starts his new job up there as soon as we find a house and move our stuff into it! But, I’m losing my sense of hopefulness… striking out, repeatedly, on the housing front can do that to a person. 

Part of me is all Wow! Thank you, God! You really came out of nowhere with this new job opportunity– certainly, You’ve got a place for us to live as well!

Then, there is this other, more shadowy part of my consciousness that bemoans We will never find a place to live! This is just like you, Kristen, prematurely thanking God for something that is doomed to failure. Just wait, you’ll see!

After my faithful, optimistic side battles it out with my faithless, pessimistic shadow, I’ll emerge with a more nuanced view of things. I hope. 

God knows I wish I could be all faithful and all trusting all the time. But, it still hasn’t happened for me.

It’s so easy to get discouraged! However, giving into discouragement accomplishes nothing but misery. 

I will not choose misery this time. I’m choosing hope and holding onto the promise of joy.  

I’m choosing to use my brain while I follow my heart. No need for the faithful to also be naive… but, God’s got this. I just need to keep doing what I’m doing and hold on until it’s time for Him to let me in on the plan.

It’s time to, once again, flex the muscles of my faith. I’ve made it this far, I think I’ve got what it takes to go all the way;)

2 thoughts on “Hope and Misery

    1. Perhaps! But, I’m comfortable taking responsibility and ownership of my own unfaithfulness…. Satan has no power but what God has allotted to him. I have the power to choose which thoughts I feed and which ones I starve into oblivion;)

      Liked by 4 people

Comments are closed.