There is a season

“For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven:

a time to be born, and a time to die;

a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted;

a time to kill, and a time to heal;

a time to break down, and a time to build up;

a time to weep, and a time to laugh;

a time to mourn, and a time to dance;

a time to throw away stones, and a time to gather stones together;

a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;

a time to seek, and a time to lose;

a time to keep, and a time to throw away;

a time to tear, and a time to sew;

a time to keep silence, and a time to speak;

a time to love, and a time to hate;

a time for war, and a time for peace.”

Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 (NRSV)

At this time last year, I was in the darkest season of my life. On my 33rd birthday–November 5th, 2015– I remember sitting around with some of my favorite people on the planet, and joking about the possibility of my own crucifixion, seeing as it was the start of my “Jesus year” and all. 

It is true, this has been a season of loss and sudden endings. 

It is true, I have died to many things– namely old ways of being and doing. 

I can feel new life churning beneath the surface of the barren field of my soul… So, I have not lost all things. Maybe, just the things I no longer need. 

I feel like God has pruned me back to a mere stump. I didn’t think I needed that much pruning, but boy was I mistaken!

I have been watching for a change in this season of my life for so very long… and, I think it’s finally happening.

My Woodsman starts his new job in a week and a half. We sign the papers for a little lakefront place on 4.7 acres tomorrow. We are moving 344 miles North of here in 3 days!!

It’s almost too good to be true. 

I’ve had to place all of my hope in God, because everything else I had placed my hope in failed. As painful as this all has been, I can (kind of) see its necessity. 

Lord,

I may not agree with your tactics, but, thank you for walking with me through my own season of trials. Thank you for being faithful even when I wasn’t. And for loving me when I struggled to love you in return.

Amen
Now, to embark on the next leg of this journey called life!

3 thoughts on “There is a season

  1. Beautiful Kristen. I am happy for you. You made me smile – pruned you down to a stump, huh? Check this out even though you’re out of the valley season, it will come again until we depart, so it can encourage you for the next time.
    Just press Play button.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.