Blessed are the peacemakers 

I’m weary of divisiveness.

I’m weary of scrolling through a Facebook feed full of ranting, name calling and finger pointing. 

I’m weary of politics.

I’m weary of theological squabbles and religious self-righteousness.

I’m weary of opinions– my own, and those belonging to others.

When did what we think become more important than how treat others? Has it always been this way?

As a person deeply steeped in the Christian faith, I believe there has to be a better way.

A better way to commune and communicate with those that think differently than we do.

A better way to respond to the evil at work in our midst. 

A better way to actively defend and protect the least among us.

“Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.”

Romans 12:21 (NASB)

As Christians, our first response should be one seeking the good. The Divinely inspired good which has its potential in each one of us. A good that isn’t all caught up in appearing right.

Admittedly, my own first reaction is rarely for the good. It’s usually one of sorrow and grief for the world. And, yes, often sorrow and grief brought on by some of my brothers and sisters in Christ. 

But I will not be overcome by it.

“But you, be strong and do not lose courage, for there is reward for your work.”

2 Chronicles 15:7 (NASB)

We cannot afford– the world we live in cannot afford– to have us, as the children of God, give up on the good because of its apparent absence in our midst. There is good. So much good in our life in Christ. We are called to bring out that good from its Divine source and deliver it into the world. There is dire need of it here.

What makes a Christian different? Is it just what we believe? No, it’s not. Everyone believes in someone or something. Having a belief matters little in comparison with the power of the One we believe in, and His desire to use us according to His perfect will, enabling us to do so. 

“For the kingdom of God does not consist in words but in power.”

1 Corinthians 4:20 (NASB)

Beloved family in Christ, let us all be reminded that our words matter. But the power of our words to change hearts and minds belongs to God. 

“Therefore you are to be perfect, as your heavenly Father is perfect.”

Matthew 5:48 (NASB)

Until we see God thundering His arguments from the heavens, we would be wise to consider how short a perfect argumentative response falls of His Perfection. 

Here’s to renewing my commitment to the good, and a more fervent search for His Perfection in myself. 

19 thoughts on “Blessed are the peacemakers 

    1. That’s just it though… I’ve long been a centrist and a political independent. I don’t align with either side, but find agreement on certain things with BOTH sides. Feeling torn between the two is normal… feeling caught in the middle of a warzone is not:-/

      Liked by 3 people

      1. People don’t like to be wrong, I guess. A certain need to stay consistent. Your beliefs define who you are. Someone else says those beliefs are wrong…you just have to react. That’s why it’s important to be open-minded, to accept that the world is fluid, ever-changing, and that reality is subjective.

        Right or wrong simply depend on who you ask.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Maybe then the Christian solution is found in no longer defining ourselves by what we believe, but allowing Who we believe in to shape our self-concept? Just thinking out loud here. I suspect our need to be seen as right and not wrong is due to Western cultural ideals. We tend to attach value to coming up with the “right” answers, and less value to having a healthy sense of our own finiteness, lol!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. So true. We do not have the power to change hearts nor minds. “Not by might, nor by power, but by my Spirit says the Lord.” Zechariah 4;6 Only God can penetrate the hearts and minds, but he does use means, and sometimes our words may be the means to cause someone to receive the gospel. Thanks for this post, my friend. I know this more now than ever.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Barbara, I don’t know if I’ve ever told you just how much I appreciate how closely you follow my blog. You are generous with your praise and your critiques. I’m very grateful for both! Your words have challenged me to refine my own perspective and plunge ever deeper into Truth. Thank you for being such a blessing to me in my blogging journey!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a beautiful post. It’s been so overwhelming recently, that I have unfollowed some friends on Facebook. I can’t handle all the anger. I realized I was focusing too much on the news and less on my children. This can’t be right. Trying to keep going hoping that things will settle and love will prevail.
    Hope you are having a good start this year! Just catching up on blogging as kids have kept me busy!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I posted a poem/ prayer with the same thoughts a while back on my blog (forgive me for not remembering the title… if you search “ecumenicism” on my blog it might come up). There must be true dialogue by Christians or else peace is only a fleeting byword, or even worse, a lie.

    Having a common launching point helps us in the pursuit of peace. Christ says “blessed are the peacemakers,” so as Christians, if we do not see ourselves as pursuing peace, then it is a grave danger.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This was a very powerful post, to say the least. I feel very similar to everything you described. I long to focus on the good, even though I fall short, because the good is there and in us. However, there is a fine line between simply looking for the good and refraining from fervent discourse to avoid the bad. There are times that even though that feeling of needing to be right can be a barrier rather than a bridge, there are also times that remaining silent can lead to more harm than good. It is finding the wisdom to know when each path should be taken that is of the utmost difficulty.

    Thank you for this post, it was thoughtful, insightful, and gave me much to reflect upon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Shawn!

      And you are so right about that line… there are indeed times we are called to vocally stand up for the good. Without the perfect guidance of the Spirit, we are apt as humans to see the avoidance of any conflict as the means to peace, when that simply isn’t true. Peace can make great strides by entering into (instead of avoiding) conflict and seeking to understand rather than seeking to silence all opposition… but that requires an ego transcendence that is only possible by the grace of God.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. “seeking to understand rather than seeking to silence all opposition”

        Yes! How challenging it is at times due to our egos, and that need to be right, but trying to find peace without understanding is futile. Like anyone else, I am guilty of jumping the gun at times and going into an attack mode because I was “offended,” but I strive to find that understanding, to walk in their shoes, to know where they came from, so that with that understanding I can find that common ground which will lead to an unwavering bond that points to peace and love.

        Thank you again! I will look forward to reading more of your posts, both those I have missed and those yet to come.

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.